What got you HERE won’t get you THERE!

Philippians 3:12-15 “One thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

Recently I spent some time away with my family up at the Gold Coast. It was a fantastic time to stop and reflect on what’s most important. As I was reflecting over the last 10 years of life & ministry I came to the point of recognizing that everything I’ve learnt over the past 10 years that has got me to this point in my life journey is not necessarily sufficient to sustain me over the next 10 years of my life and ministry. What got me here won’t get me there.

Dave Anderson says, “The enemy of great is good. The primary reason so few leaders or organisations ever become great is because they get good and stop. They stop growing, learning, risking & changing.”

We must avoid the trap of stopping to work on ourselves. You are your greatest weapon and if you stop personally growing, everything you lead stops growing as well. Personal growth is a process, not an event and neither you nor your ministry or business ever arrives. 

The Apostle Paul in his letter to the Church in Philippi (Phil 3:12-16) gives us insight into his quest for pressing forward in knowing Christ. Paul knew he hadn’t arrived and that he had to keep pressing forward. In order to do so required him to forget what lies behind and strain forward to what lies ahead. Paul had a goal before him to press for and he explained that maturity is evidenced by embracing his example.

What about you? What books are you going to read in the next 90days? What podcasts are you going to listen to and when and where are you going to spend time with Jesus? What conferences are you going to attend and what appointments with people you want to talk to are you going to make? Why is any of this relevant?

Because WHAT GOT YOU HERE WON’T GET YOU THERE! Yes, your steps in life are ordered by the Lord but you have a part to play as well. Pick up your personal growth and do something with it today.

Lead the Change!

Comments are closed.

