Spiritual Arrogance!

I recently read a Rick Warren quote saying, “Criticizing other ministries is sinful arrogance.” To be honest I find this challenging because if I was honest with myself, I would acknowledge that too many times I have criticized other churches and ministries without really knowing the full story or being justified in my perspective.

I don’t know about you but if we were all honest with ourselves we would have to acknowledge that at times we have said way too much about others when we should have prayed for them or just not said anything at all.

In Luke 9:49 the disciples said to Jesus (paraphrased) “Master we tried to stop him because he isn’t part of OUR group.” This sounds so much like us at times. We think that because someone leads or attends another church different to ours or smaller or bigger than ours that they mustn’t be God’s chosen vessels but Jesus response tells us what he thinks about other ministries not being in our tribe… Jesus said, “Do not stop them, for the one who is not against you is for you.”

 My mother used to say to me all the time, “The Church is the only army that shoots its own wounded.” Tight but I’ve observed it to be right at times. How can we ever move forward together as a Body of Christ if we find it so easy to criticize each other.

Yes, there are differences between styles & philosophies of leadership, worship, ministry and connecting with culture but at the end of the day, if someone is in a different tribe and is not against me, i should see them as an ally and rejoice that someone else is moving the kingdom forward.

We pastors and leaders can be some of the most insecure people on the planet, driving our own wheel barrows up the proverbial hill trying to make our mark. We would do well to remind ourselves, we don’t have it all together either and every stream is doing their bit to move the ball down the field according to the revelation God has given to them to work with.

Lets be a little more gracious with each other and not imbibe of the attitude of spiritual arrogance. Who knows we may actually learn something from each other…?

Lead the Change!

Comments are closed.

