The Journey of Life!

Philippians 3:12-14 “Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

Life is definitely one amazing journey. It is full of ups and downs, twists and turns, surprises and predictability all at the same time. Today I have been reflecting on the magnitude of the life God has given me and all of us as I spend time being still in solitude with God and His Word. It’s so easy to become distracted by the cares and affairs of this life and get wrapped up in issues that steal the fulness of life that Jesus came to give us.

The Apostle Paul was someone who had an amazing life. His life was filled with past mistakes, God encounters, persecution, fruitful ministry, disappointments and incredible revelations and yet the one constant was his pursuit of Jesus Christ and the call of knowing him and the power of his resurrection (Phil 3:10). Paul’s amazing life was characeterised by his passion for God and the call of God upon his life.

What is your life characterised by? Is your journey characterised by the mistakes of your past? Paul acknowledged the past but kept focused on what God had ahead for him. Thank God for the past but don’t let it steal what God wants to do in your future. Leverage your past to build your future in God.

Is your journey characterised by your self? Are you so consumed with your feelings, image and reputation that you have no space for anyone else in your life? God has given us life not just for us to enjoy but to be a blessing to others. We are to not look only to our own interests but also the interests of others.

Is your journey characterised by judgement? Do you live with a chip on your shoulder? Some people constantly feel the need to correct everyone and make others fit in with their perspective of the world. Jesus taught us the measure we use against others will be the measure that is used against us. The grid or filter we use to relate to others becomes the grid that others use to ultimately relate to us. What we sow is what we reap. This is a sobering and scary reality.

I want my life to characterised by God’s Word. I want my life to be characterised by God’s love, grace and favour. I want my life to be characterised by God’s presence. I want to know God and the power of his resurrection. I want to make an eternal difference in people’s lives by partnering with God and his purposes in the earth. I want to be a vessel of honour, not dishonour that God can use for his glory. None of us are perfect but we are forgiven and we must forget what lies behind and strain forward to what lies ahead. We must press on. I often think, what else can we do but press on in God to fulfill the call of God in our generation.

Enjoy the life God has given you (Ecclesiastes continually comes back to this basic truth) and don’t long to live someone else’s life. Fear God and obey his Word. Pursue the call of knowing God and the power of his resurrection and don’t let Satan steal from you the fulness of life God came to give you. Life is amazing!

Lead the Change!

2 Responses to “The Journey of Life!”

  1. Rachel porch Says:

    Love this!

  2. laura castro Says:

    very clear insights on phil 3:13-14

Leave a Reply

