The Best I Have is Yours!

I attended a kids birthday party recently and I was fascinated by how hard little kids go at the different activities and games they participate in. Kids were literally throwing themselves at the ball and smashing into other party goers and not even thinking twice about it. Kids were running as hard and fast as they could to win. Each kid was giving their absolute best to whatever it was they were doing at the time.

Do you remember a time in your life when you were so excited about what you were doing that you were throwing yourself into it with everything within you? Unfortunately for some of us we gave up the notion of ‘giving our best’ a long time ago because we have allowed the disappointments of life and ministry steal our passion for giving our very best.

I was on holidays last year reflecting on my early years of ministry and how I would give my absolute best to sermon preparation and devotions and prayer and fasting and witnessing. Over a period of time I reflected that my best had started to wane. I’m not talking about perfection but I am talking about each and every day giving your best to what God has called you to do. As I reflected on this I realised that I had allowed criticism, disappointments, setbacks and painful experiences to cause me to settle down… and I hated where all of this could end up.

I don’t want to spend my life celebrating mediocrity. I don’t want to become a pastor who ends up being a professional explainer of why nothing happens in their ministry. I want to spend my days giving my best to the cause of Jesus Christ and what’s most important to God. The truth is we all give our best to something. For some of us, we give our best to hobbies, relationships, careers and education but our best is to be reserved for God!

Romans 12:1 says, “I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.” In the context of this verse (11:33ff) Paul is saying, “In light of whom God is (inexhaustible, centre of creation), the only reasonable and rational thing to do is give our best to God… We are to present our entire lives as a living sacrifice for God for this is worship that is pleasing and acceptable to God.”

God wants your best, not your scraps and I am so glad that when we needed rescuing from our sin, God didn’t give us his scraps but he gave us his very best – His Son… “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, so that whosoever should believe in him would not perish but have eternal life (Jn 3:16).”

Lead the Change!

One Response to “The Best I Have is Yours!”

  1. I liked it, it seriously appeals.

Leave a Reply

