A Broken Heart!

132922595_f860a8aa20My heart is weighed down today by how many people are out there who don’t know Jesus Christ as their Lord and Saviour. What’s worse is some of them don’t even care. Our society is so caught up in making money, consuming goods and services and creating the ultimate lifestyle that we haven’t got time to think about more important matters like God, love, eternity and justice.

One of the things that drives me is the reality that there are so many people out in the world who do not know the truth. Their hearts are hardened and their minds are covered with a veil of darkness and ignorance. The god of this world has blinded their minds to the truth of God’s Word. I am not content to live with this or to see my generation consume themselves away into a Christ-less eternity. I want to do something more about it.

But here lies the challenge, at the same time as I feel passion for doing something about the plight of people’s souls, I also feel overwhelmed by how big the challenge is. How do we reach people with the gospel and be effective in our reaching out? How do we overcome the challenges of global sex traffiking, child slavery, aids and poverty let alone the emptiness of western consumerism? How do we win more souls into God’s Kingdom? How can we grow churches quicker and faster than ever before because the darkness is thicker and more evil than it’s ever been before?

These are some of the questions I wrestle with as a Christian and as a leader of a local church. I struggle with my congregation, to be honest with you, because I so believe in them and I so want them to see that there is more in them than they can see and there is more that we can do together to change the world but some of my congregation take a long time to see themselves the same way and to respond to the desperate needs in front of us and that frustrates me. But then I look at myself and I see my shortcomings and I repent and ask God for forgiveness because I realise I am just like my congregation at times, distracted by the comforts and enticements of my own flesh and this world. “God help us to be more like Jesus to a world that is so far away from you.”

To be honest with you, I often walk away from these moments without any better answers or solutions than I had before the questions started to bounce around in my heart and head. But what I do have is a simple yet undying faith in God and His Word. I don’t know how we are going to save this generation but I do know that my faith in God and His Word is more powerful than the problems I face in this world.

I do know that God has given me some gifts to use and I intend to maximise those gifts to their utmost capacity for God’s glory and the benefit of others. I don’t have lots of money but the resources I do have and the love in my heart for God and for people I do have can be used to make a difference to someone. I don’t get asked into the Prime Minister’s office at all to share my perspective on various issues affecting Australia (yet) but the influence I do have I want to use wisely to help as many people as I can move towards leading others into Jesus way of life.

I don’t have all the answers but I do have a God who does. He is sovereign and he knows exactly what is going on and he has called you and me to play a part in redeeeming mankind and saving the planet from sin and death. What about you?

Lead the Change!

One Response to “A Broken Heart!”

  1. Rachel porch Says:

    Really love your heart CT!

Leave a Reply

