Sabbatical Completed!

2916556178_993931d487Well, here we are at the end of 4 weeks Sabbatical and the whole experience has been totally life transforming. I rate the decision to embark on this journey as one of the most defining of my life and ministry. So much so, I think I will look back upon my life as BCM and ACM (Before Corey’s meltdown and After Corey’s Meltdown)…

Over the last 4 weeks I have debriefed with trusted mentors, my parents and close friends, I have exercised nearly everyday, I have spent a lot of time with my wife and family, I have read a little and watched some movies but more importantly I have sat at the feet of Jesus everyday for many hours and prayed, reflected upon God’s Word and listened to the whispers of the Holy Spirit.

There is nothing in life that comes remotely close to being in love with Jesus and close to the heart of God. The Father has helped me clarify my priorities, he has challenged me to repent of sin where I’ve needed to, he has healed my heart and restored my passion for him, for people and for ministry and he has pierced me with a depth of brokenness I’ve never had. 

I want to say THANK YOU to everyone from Activate Church and beyond who has shown me and my family incredible love, care and support during this time. It’s so wonderful to be apart of a Church community that truly loves you and is looking out for you.

I have learnt many things through this experience. Here are some of them:

  • Never doubt your vision.
  • Only 5% of what I do is what I’ve been called to do.
  • There is no room for negative thoughts or negative people in my world.
  • Be very careful who you listen to.
  • You have only so many bursts of energy each day to give to a limited number of tasks.
  • There is no other key to success than hear God clearly and obey Him boldly whatever the cost.
  • Trust God, he always knows best.
  • Lead from overflow not emptiness.
  • Don’t lead with a chip on your shoulder.
  • Walk in your own anointing, not someone else’s.
  • Everyday build a stronghold of faith in your heart and mind.
  • Spiritual warfare is a daily reality for the spiritual leader.

It’s Monday tomorrow and I return to full time ministry but not back to things as usual. There have been several specific changes to my approach to life that will affect the way I lead and minister from this point on. I will never be the same, the church will never be the same and life as I’ve known it will never be the same. 

Psalm 127:1 “Unless the Lord builds the house, those who build it labour in vain.”

Lead the Change!

5 Responses to “Sabbatical Completed!”

  1. Jacqui Coulthard Says:

    Corey I feel so blessed that God has placed our families together on this journey. We love you all so much and look forward to the many lessons God teaches us and the much fruit God gives us as we hear and obey His very will for our lives. We’re all in this together! Great to have you back.

  2. Great to hear Corey. Thanks for filling us in on the journey. Good to have the ACM at work today! 🙂

    Have a great week ahead. As always, it’s a privilege doing life and ministry with you and your family (BCM & ACM!)

  3. YEAH BABY! Lovin having ya back…
    Life, ministry & our church will never be the same!

  4. Jason (Sarge) Isaac Says:

    Ps Corey I appreciate and love your honesty and integrity. I look up to you and hold you in high regard for the leader you are. I truly believe that Channar and I wouldnt be in the spiritual place we are right now if it wasnt for your leadership and friendship. You are a man of honour and courage, thankyou for the update in the progression of the last 4 weeks, Channar and I are truly greatful to be serving Christ in Activate Church and under your leadership and faithfulness unto God. Awesome to hear your back cant wait to speak to you.

Leave a Reply

