Hear Clearly and Obey Boldly!

Hear and Obey

Hear and Obey

1 Samuel 15:22-23 “Has the Lord as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, as in obeying the voice of the Lord? Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice, and to listen than the fat of rams. For rebellion is as the sin of divination, and presumption is as iniquity and idolatry. Because you have rejected the word of the Lord, he has also rejected you from being king.”

The unifying theme of my personal life journey has been “Hear God clearly and obey God boldly… whatever the cost”. I have always heard the voice of God clearly for my life but haven’t always wanted to obey what I knew God was asking me to do. Why? Because sometimes I knew it would cost me something to obey and other times I just didn’t believe that God had my best interests at heart.

A few weeks back I was going for a long walk contemplating what the key to growth in life and ministry is. The Holy Spirit spoke to me a profound word in my heart and I want to share it with you. He said, “Pastors are always looking for the key to unlock growth in their ministry but there is no such key other than hear me clearly and obey me boldly whatever the cost. The key to life and ministry is intimacy with me and obedience to me.” Intimacy and obedience to God constitutes relationship with God and the fruitfulness of God takes care of itself.

Before you read another book, attend another seminar or go to another mentoring session, pay the price to hear God’s voice and have the courage to do what he tells you to do. This is what relationship with Jesus at it’s core looks like. This is discipleship.

Jesus said, “The Son can do nothing of his own accord, but only what he sees the Father doing” (Jn 5:19-20). Jesus is the Son of God and yet he was totally dependent upon the leadership of the Father for his life and ministry. He didn’t obey because he was trying to get “things” from the Father but he was obeying because he loved the Father with all his heart and so should we in light of who God is and what he has done for us.

My entire life from getting married to planting Activate church and having our 3rd child Joshua has been directed and led by the Holy Spirit. When God leads you and you obey, there is great joy and fruitfulness in your life, even when God asks you to do something that’s difficult. The pay off is worth it. Hear clearly and obey boldly, it’s the only way to live.

Lead the Change!

4 Responses to “Hear Clearly and Obey Boldly!”

  1. Thanks for the reminder of the joy that comes out of the sometimes painful steps of obedience.

    On the journey with you!

    Looking forward to welcoming you back next week.

    Jade

  2. Chris Dickson Says:

    GREAT WORD!

  3. Great advice, thanks. But do you have any advice on how to actually hear God’s voice clearly?

Leave a Reply

