Burn BRIGHTLY without burning OUT!

2081228827_545468587e1 Kings 19:4 “But Elijah went a days journey into the wilderness and came and sat down under a broom tree. And he asked that he might die, saying, “It is enough now, O Lord, take away my life, for I am no better than my fathers.”

What is it that would make the fiery prophet Elijah want God to kill him when he had just been used by God in such a mighty way on top of Mt Carmel? The answer is fatigue! Elijah ran away from Queen Jezebel’s threats not because he wasn’t a man of God but because ministry had tired him out and he was extremely fatigued.

Someone once said, ‘Fatigue makes cowards of us all’. I have discovered this to be true in my own life. The more fatigued you become the more you want to retreat from the battle field because the coping mechanisms you once relied on aren’t working anymore. Over the last 3 weeks of my Sabbatical I’ve been reflecting on the last 10 years of ministry and God has given me some real and important keys to burning brightly without burning out. I hope they help you:

Refocus on what God has called you to do – We will generally place more expectations upon ourselves than what God ever will. I thought God wanted me to save the world but actually he wants me to do what he’s called me to do and he’ll take care of the saving. God has called me to lead a growing church of thousands, be a prophetic voice to my generation and write inspirational books… That’s it in a nutshell.

Identify the top 5% of what only you can do – 85% of what you do anyone can do. 10% of what you do someone who is trained can do. Only 5% of what you do, you only can do. For me my top 5% is my: Relationship with God and my family; Looking after my health and fitness; Leading Activate Church; Preaching and writing what God wants me to and Mentoring and Caring for my core leaders.

Tune into your life cadence – Everyone of us has been given a certain capacity to function at. For some of us we have a V8 capacity. For others it’s only 4 cylinder capacity but whatever it is we need to tune into it and align our daily, weekly, monthly and annual schedules around it.

  1. Daily rhythm – What do you need to do everyday to keep healthy and sharp?
  2. Weekly rhythm – What are the weekly activities that need to be apart of your life?
  3. Monthly rhythm – What would help you stay focused each month of the year?
  4. Annual rhythm – What events or activities will you schedule in to stay well over the course of a year?

Know what fills and drains your tank – You have got to know what activities and people fill your energy tanks up and also drain you of energy. Make sure you make time to do those things that fill your tank and don’t just drain your tank.

Give your greatest energy to what’s most important – Each of us only has so many pockets of energy to give away each day. How and where you invest your energy is one of the most important decisions you’ll ever make.

Lead the Change!

6 Responses to “Burn BRIGHTLY without burning OUT!”

  1. Chris Dickson Says:

    Great word bro!
    So good to read the things God is sharing with you out of this season of life and ministry. Very inspiring & very true. I often find the 5% I know I’m called to getting neglected because of a busy schedule. I have been challenged by your post to refocus on the 5% of what God is calling me to and make it a higher priority in my life.

    Much Love!

    Chris Dickson

  2. Very important stuff…and achievable! Thanks for giving clear steps for how we can plan for this in our own lives 🙂

  3. Sarah Fagerland Says:

    So true Corey! It’s so easy to get caught up in everyday life and busyness that you forget to look after yourself and focus on what’s really important. So great to see God has lead you through this time and given you the keys you need to continue to follow God’s call, while taking care of yourself and family. Thank you for sharing these invaluable insights!

  4. Helen Best Says:

    So great!
    It’s what we all need to be hearing and being.

  5. Karen Tiller Says:

    Totally True and Totally agree!

  6. Wow .. great insight! Thank you for honestly sharing what you have had to experience … there are some really important keys there for all leaders at all levels!

Leave a Reply

