Why is prayer so hard?

Prayer is universal to all faiths and we know that it’s central to the Christian faith but why is it that prayer can seem so hard to wrap our minds, mouths and motivations around? There are 4 basic reasons why we struggle with prayer:

  1. We’re not sure how to pray
  2. We get bored or distracted while trying to pray
  3. We think our requests are too small for God
  4. We’re not sure that our prayers will make a difference

Defining prayer is simply stated as COMMUNICATION WITH GOD! It’s important that we give each other room to connect with God in different ways because all of us have unique ways of engaging with his Spirit.

If you want to grow your prayer life then i believe the following tips will help you because they have helped me and countless others. You will find these tips stated in various books and sermons in different wording:

Talk to God with gut level honesty: God isn’t interested in long or perfect prayers but he is interested in prayers that authentically come from your heart.

Talk to God about everything that matters to you: Phil 4:6-7 says, “Do not be anxious about anything but in everything by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God and the peace of God will guard your heart and mind in Christ Jesus.”

Talk to God continually:1 Thess 5:16-18 exhorts us to pray without ceasing. You may struggle to pray for extended periods of time in one hit but you can pray 10-20mins at a time all throughout the day.

Listen to God for his response: Monologue prayer is limited but dialogue communication is critical to walk in God’s purpose for your life.

Pray Until Something Happens: Don’t give up and never give in. Just keep on praying until you breakthrough.

Lead the Change!

2 Responses to “Why is prayer so hard?”

  1. visionadvancement Says:

    Hey Corey – awesome article on prayer. It’s real, and it’s simple. I’ve started the business department blog! It’s aimed at the business department’s target audience, so it’s written a bit differently to a church blog. Check it out: http://visionadvancement.wordpress.com/2009/01/16/howtoclarifyyourvision/
    – Paul

  2. Hi Corey;

    I want to tell you that I loved this post. I started my blog today and it’s a little different, because it’s about my finding my way back to christ. I feel like I have been a pretend christian for so long and in the past few days I have done so much soul searching. Today I googled why is praying so hard for me. And there your post was. Thank you so much for this post. Keep me in your prayers as I try to find my way.

    http://www.wanderingwalks.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

