My Apple store experience

I recently visited the new Apple (IT) store at Chadstone Shopping Centre. I was impacted by what i saw and i believe the wider church could benefit greatly from hanging out with Steve Jobs crew.

Here are my insights into Apple:

They are not selling technology but a way of life: Apple isn’t about technology only, it’s more about a way of life. They want you to embrace a way of life that is connected, digital, accessible and up to date…and very, very cool.

They have a strong team culture: No-one is trying to outdo each other, they are unified and everyone plays their part as a loyal apple follower.

They create an experience: I felt different while i was there and i felt like i was apart of something bigger than myself.

They are as much about people learning as they are about people buying: They have a program called ‘onetoone’. This is a ‘personal training’ service geared towards people who want to learn more about their apple computer. All you need to do is book an appointment at the genius bar and you will be discipled in the ways of mac.

Their marketing is clear, sharp, simple and to the point: They have branded themselves well and they’re wouldn’t be many people who wouldn’t recognise the apple logo. They use lifestyle imagery to communicate the need for their product.

They are organised: Their was a clear flow about their work environment. Each employee wore a colour coded t-shirt to define what role they played in the store from manager to ‘personal trainer’ to customer assistant. Their work space was uncluttered, spacious and inviting.

They’re employees are well trained: Each employee knew what their role was, they were all informed and could use their knowledge to help answer most questions about their products.

They are innovative: Not only are they innovative in their products but they have something called a “Genius Bar” where you can make an appointment with a ‘personal trainer’ and learn about your mac or any other apple product you have.

Lead the Change!

3 Responses to “My Apple store experience”

  1. Ben Wallis Says:

    Nice work mate – they are a very impressive crew at Apple!
    Cheers

  2. […] Go to an Apple store or somewhere in a totally different industry that’s the product of creative genius, and apply the underlying ideas to your own business or job. […]

  3. Amy Brown Says:

    I think that it is a bit dangerous when you sell Spirituality like it is a product. My problem with my own personal experience of Pentecostalism is that Christianity has always been sold to me like it was an Ipod. And I was sold the lifestyle. And the marketing. And the Innovation.

    Somewhere along the way, the Ipod doesn’t make you the coolest person in the room, it doesn’t make you happy, it doesn’t bring you a partner, and you are left with a remote feeling of disillusionment that most people will never connect to the failed expectations of the Ipod.

    So what happens when I get sold a faulty product, and my spirituality does not give me the experience that was sold to me? I have spent years reconciling how I really feel about Christianity because I was sold a different story to what my 20 years of life experience has taught me. I hit 18 and had a crisis of faith because I was never taught that Christianity doesn’t solve any of my problems, and that if you pray more or read your bible more or Go to the right conferences and raise your hands and spin around three times and say oranges really fast then God will “give you the desires of your heart”. That was what the image of seeking God looked like, but it is not how I see it now.

    Christianity is not a bandaid, and God is not a Genie.

    I like that my journey is made up of real pain, and I like that I do not have to prove anything to anyone. Further to that, I have discovered that this way of walking makes life so much richer. I am not striving for heaven after death, but to bring heaven in life.

    I find the more real I am with people, the more I strip back the “3-steps” and “Christianize” is when I can really begin to walk with people through their pain and their joy.

    Would you want to brand that? I think to do so would be to violate the very principles that underlie it.

Leave a Reply

